The generally named Cercle Municipal is an administrative building with several festival halls. From 1953 to 1969 the European Community for Coal and Steel used it as a venue for meetings and conventions. On the front a unique frieze depicts the scene where Countess Ermesinde hands over the char ter of freedom to the citizens of Luxembourg in the year 1244. A bridge connects the City Palace with the new sociocultural meeting centre "Le Cité". Together they form the culture and conference centre "Cercle Cité".