In its function as the city residence of the Grand Ducal family, the grand ducal Palace is situated right in the core of the Old Town.
Formerly the first town hall of the city occupied the site of the present palace; destroyed by a gunpowder explosion (1554), the town hall was rebuilt 20 years later. In the middle of the 18th century the former City Scales were added as an extension, whereas the Parliament was built as an annex in 1859. Since 1890 the main building has served as the Grand Dukes' official residence.
From 1992 to 1995 it was restored thoroughly.
From 20 July until 31 August 2022, visitors can take a look behind the scenes of the grand ducal Palace on a guided tour. Ticket sales support the “Fondation du Grand-Duc et de la Grande-Duchesse”.
Luxembourg City Tourist Office, Place Guillaume II
People with reduced mobility are advised to contact the Luxembourg City Tourist Office by telephone (+352) 22 28 09 before purchasing tickets.
Strollers must be dropped off at the entrance of the palace. During the tour, parents may hold their baby in their arms.